Minnesota Farmer


Potato planting
April 1, 2010, 4:29 pm
Filed under: food, garden, Minnesota, planting, rain, snow, spring, tillage, weather

Tradition says that you should plant your potatoes on Good Friday in this area.  A week ago I still had snow in my garden and I said there was no way potatoes would be in the ground by Good Friday.  Tuesday I stopped and picked up some seed potatoes just in case.  I walked out into the garden and found the ground to be very wet just under the surface.

Today I checked the forecast.  Rain is forecast for friday, with one third to one half of an inch expected.  I walked out into the garden and decided that I could spread the contents of my compost pile on the garden and work it in with the tiller if I stayed in the driest part of the garden.

The temperatures have been topping out in the mid to upper 70’s  most of the week.  A dry wind out of the south has been blowing up until today.  Spring flowers are peeking up all over.  Things are looking good for the garden.

So, I did it.  I planted the potatoes.  I know it was a bit crazy, but potatoes can take quite a bit of cool weather so I planted them.  It’s a good thing I did not have my leaf lettuce, carrot, radish and pea seed on hand or I would have planted them too.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

