Minnesota Farmer


If I should die

None of likes to think of death, but it comes to all of us.  Once we have finished being born we are all in the process of dying.  I plan on wearing out this body before I do.  So although I expect to live a bit yet, here are some thoughts on my funeral.

I’m an organ donor.  I have no use for this body after death, if any other does, let them have it.

I choose cremation.  Just burn my remaining husk and scatter the ashes in the field.  It’s where I have drawn my life from, let my ashes go back to the soil.

Carry my ashes into the church in my old canoe.  It has carried me far and shown me much beauty.  Yes, it’s a bit beaten up and shows some wear, but don’t we all.

I see no need for headstones or monuments.  There is a quote from one of the long dead kings of Sparta that says it all.  “If I have done any deed worthy of remembrance, that deed will be my monument.  If not, no monument can preserve my memory.”

Let the ushers and casket bearers be chosen from the Farm Bureau, the bus drivers and our card club.  I’ve enjoyed being with them all.

The group I’ve enjoyed the most in life is our barbershop chorus.  They are to be honorary casket bearers.  They’ll be singing so there is no other job they need to do.

Music, specifically music sung in parts, has been a great comfort to me.  Whether it is belting out the base line to some old familiar hymn or laying down the foundation for a chord in one of our barbershop chorus tunes, music is a great way to express your feelings.  My favorite songs include:

  • This is my Fathers World
  • Earth and all Stars!
  • Built on a Rock
  • I was there to Hear Your Borning Cry
  • I’ll Fly Away
  • I’m Sitting on Top of the World
  • God Bless the USA

I’ve seen much of life.  I’ve travelled most of our country and many parts of the world.

I’ve found a woman who is my best friend and who takes good care of me.  There are children, family and friends.

I’ve had the chance to shake hands with presidents.  I’ve been there to help shape policy in church, state and country.  I’m a firm believer that the world is run by those who show up, and I’ve tried to show up whenever possible.  Most of all I’ve done my best to make this a better world for all.

Yes, I’m a bit thick headed and slow to learn, but I did learn.  There has been much change in my lifetime and all whom I have met have helped me learn how to deal with the world.  Hopefully I’ve helped them learn to deal with all the world can throw at them as well.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

