Minnesota Farmer


Gone fishin’
May 29, 2010, 12:22 pm
Filed under: fish, Fishing, Minnesota, School bus | Tags: , , , ,

The day  was not real busy.  Yes, I had the morning bus route, and a couple of hours moving kids off to Kastle Kingdom for a few hours of play as school winds down, then what.  Time to go fishin’.

Most folks around here get into a power boat of some kind and motor across the waves.  I don’t have one.  My fishing boat of the day was my Hobie Kayak.  A Hobie Kayak has a different type of propulsion.  Under the craft are what looks like penguin flippers, and you power them with your feet.  It’s a great way to get some exercise and do some fishing.  It really works great for trolling.

So I got all of my stuff set up, put the Hobie into the lake and I was off.  Not much was happening until I came to a spot I know of as a sunny hot spot.  A nice sunfish volunteered for the frying pan on my sunfish diver.  I hung around for a few croppies and decided it was time to check out the rest of the lake.

My circuit of the lake yielded nothing until I got back around to that hot spot.  This time a 3 pound Northern Pike took hold.  Now fishing in a kayak for sunfish is OK, but put a 3 pound pike in your lap and things can get interesting.  There is just no place else to put that fish.  Luckily my dip net was handy and I could be sure he stayed put.

So it was a good afternoon fishing.  I only kept a sunny and two croppies, plus that pike, but it’s something for dinner.  I’ll have to give it a try again soon.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

