Minnesota Farmer


A new experience
June 17, 2010, 6:23 am
Filed under: Farm, Minnesota, rain, weather, weather wisdom | Tags: , , , ,

After nearly half a century of farming you would think I had done everything possible on this place, but not so.  Yesterday I did something new, I got stuck in the mud while spraying, twice.

Getting stuck is not something you want to do.  It’s hard on equipment and it’s hard on the crop.  Usually I’m quite cautious, waiting until conditions are “right” until I venture into the field.  With all of the rain and wind we have had this month, I took the first chance and went out to spray, it was not pretty.  I did manage to get most of the fields that “Have to  be sprayed yesterday” done, but there is more that should be done soon.

Todays forecast is windy with a chance of rain.  If we can avoid any large showers the fields should actually dry out.  Tomorrow may actually work out if things go right.  So, I’ll wait.  I will get the job done, years of experience tell me that is so.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

