Minnesota Farmer


A break at the lake
August 2, 2010, 6:53 am
Filed under: fish, Fishing, Minnesota, summer | Tags: , , , ,

A weekend at the lake is all the down time I seem to be able to put together this summer.  I had been hoping for another trip to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area but that has not fit in with anyone else’s schedule.  So I settled for another week end at the cabin on Sand Lake.  This weekend it was just three of us, my wife and mother-in-law, plus myself.

I spend my time fishing mostly, and the fish were again willing, if a bit small.  This time it was the Northern Pike that kept me busy, although I only kept two decent ones.  There were some Crappies and a Large Mouth Bass of decent size to add to the take.  The best fishing seemed to be during cloudy weather and in shallow water.  A cast towards shore and a quick retrieve of a 4 inch twister seemed to work best.  A few Bluegill Sunfish would chase the lure if they were around, but they were too small to get hooked.

Since I mostly fished out of my Hobie Adventure Kayak it was easy to troll or work the shore.  A few pumps on the “Mirage” drive and I could move along to the next part of shore, hands are free to hold the rod.  The trick is always where to put the fish while taking out the hook.  There is not much room except in your lap.  For a small craft it is well set up for fishing.  The addition of a landing net, fish basket and stringer, all hooked to the kayak, help to make fishing easier.

Sunday morning fishing was not as good as Saturday, but that was alright.  I only needed to clean fish once that way.  It leaves more fish for next time.  Now I’m home and it’s time to get back to work.  I hope you also had time to unwind this summer.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

