Minnesota Farmer


Farmfest “10

farmfest.pngToday was the second day of Farmfest “10 and my dad and I made the trip to see what was going on.  Farmfest, which is held near Redwood Falls, MN, is a chance for farm folks to get together and see all of the products available for farmers.  It’s kind of like the old style state fair with out the animals.  Acres and acres of products, crop displays and salesmen.  Along with that there are marketing seminars and candidates forums, all geared at what folks in southwest Minnesota need to know to raise food for the nation.

I was able to get two gate passes so dad and I got in free.  Thank you to Rabo Bank and Farm Bureau for the tickets.

We started the day by getting in line for breakfast.  On Wednesday of Farmfest, the Minnesota Farm Bureau serves a pancake and sausage breakfast to the first 1000 people who can make it.  We stood in line for almost an hour to get our breakfast today, and we were in line shortly after the gate  opened.

As we finished breakfast a marketing seminar with Mark Schultz of North Star Commodities was starting.  For a farmer this is like the icing on the cake.  We get a free meal and free advice from a guy who makes his living trying to figure out the crop markets.  It doesn’t get any better than this.

I spent some time walking around the exhibits, visiting with folks I knew from around the state and gathering in free stuff that interested me.  When I stopped in at the Fastline booth I got a chance to talk to the writer of their blog.  They had used some of my snow pictures this last winter in one of their posts.  I had brought along a card sent to me by the Soybean growers and when I presented it at their booth, I was given a card for a free pork chop.  Free food, Great!

I wondered down to the Farm Bureau tent where they were cooking those pork chops, bought a chocolate shake from the folks in the dairy trailer, and talked to some more people.  I made it back to the Forum tent to hear the end of the debate of the candidates for governor and rest my feet.

I finished my circuit of the exhibit booths, scored a few more freebees, and had a chance to talk to the blogger from the Corn Growers.  The Minnesota Corn Growers also had samples of corn flavored ice cream, not bad actually.  After a bit of time talking over corn and soybean issues with some of the seed company reps I headed back to the Forum tent to meet my dad.

The Forum tent had a panel talking about livestock issues which gave me some interesting information to think about. (Did you know there is more Estrogen in lettuce than in beef?  Stick that in your ear all you hormone free beef eaters!)

My feet were tired, it was hot, I’d had enough.  Time to go home.  I hope to see you at Farmfest “11, next August.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

