Minnesota Farmer


Wood cutting season
April 6, 2011, 5:37 pm
Filed under: Farm, Minnesota, snow, Trees, winter, wood heat | Tags: , , , ,

For me, the time between the snow melting out of the grove and planting season is for cutting wood.  We always seem to have dead or broken trees that need to be cleaned up.  There are also some branches that are hanging over or near buildings, or out into the field.  Well it’s that season, and I’m at it.

We still have some snow in the grove, but so far I’ve been able to work in areas that are not too wet.  We cut an elm that somehow survived Dutch Elm Disease and are working on splitting and stacking that today.  The size of the trunk has put my body to the test.  I’m feeling old and sore.

So far I’ve only really looked at the trees at my dads place.  Mine got trimmed out last fall.  I also know I have a few trees I can take at my uncles place, so I will have plenty of wood.  I’m going to try to get at least half of next winters wood stacked before planting.  I should be able to finish the rest during the summer.

I have about a months worth of wood that I cut late last fall and early winter to start next heating season.  It’s best if wood has at least 6 months to dry.  Even dead wood on a tree can contain some moisture, so it needs to be cut to stove length and split.  My stove will take up to a 4 foot log, but most larger logs need to be under 26 inches to go through the splitter.

I know I’ll be sore from lugging logs and chain saws for a few days, but I best keep at it.  In Minnesota, winter is either here, or just a few months in the future.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

