Minnesota Farmer


Planting begins
May 3, 2011, 9:21 pm
Filed under: Corn, Farm, Minnesota, planting, spring | Tags: , , , , , , ,

The weather has stayed dry and planting has finally begun.  This has got to be one of the latest starts to planting I ever seen.  Not everyone has stated yet, but each day means more in our area begin planting.  The last two days have seen almost a third of our corn planted.

The ground is cold and the trees have not yet begun to leaf out, but the Barn Swallows are back.  I was really surprised when one buzzed my tractor yesterday and I’ve heard them in my yard. They are going to be a little short on insects to eat until we get some warmer temperatures.

The last two days have started out at 28 degrees.  Today did get to be a really nice day with 55 for a high and little wind.  I was stripped down to my tee shirt this afternoon and loving it.  I was happy to spend my lunch time next to my new pond.  It’s not finished yet, but it still is a nice place to sit.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

