Minnesota Farmer


Adding to the wood pile
September 17, 2011, 5:41 pm
Filed under: cold, house, Minnesota, weather, winter, wood heat | Tags: , , , , , ,

Summer heat is not the time to think about winters cold winds.  Those of us who use wood for winter heat must get out and cut wood anyway.  My summer had not added enough wood to the stack to get me through winter.  Now that the days have gotten colder I have found the energy to really get cutting.  With several dead trees still standing at my dads place, we got the saws busy and cut wood.

The wood piles grow

In fact my woodpile has never been so big.  I have been adding new places to stack wood wherever it is handy.  Yep, that’s another trees worth of wood on the trailer looking for a place to spend the winter.

The tree I cut today had been bothering me for some time.  It had to fall north, and the way the branches hung it wanted to go either south or east.  With a building only a few feet to the south, and some trees to get hung up in both east and west, it would be an interesting cut.  Besides that, the old elm had been dead several years and I could just see the winters winds blowing it into that building that was south of it.  Today the wind was gusting out of the south, so I cut it.  We had a bit of a scare when it tried to go south, but a gust of wind, and it fell just right.

With the outside wood fired boiler I put in two years ago I need a lot of wood.  This year I have outdone myself in preparing for winter.  I should have all of the wood I need to heat my house and shop already.  The trouble is there are more trees that have to be cut and I’m gong to have to find a place to put the wood.  There is always the next winter after all.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

