Minnesota Farmer


Hard to shop for
December 23, 2011, 3:18 pm
Filed under: Christmas, family, Holidays | Tags: , , , , ,

I admit it, I’m hard to shop for.  If I really want it, I buy it.  No waisted time, just get it.  That can lead to all kinds of frustration.

My wife and daughters want wish lists made up months ahead of time, and they want them today.  I cannot operate that way.  I may not know I want something until I see it, then, you guessed it, I buy it.  I’ve been married for over 30 years, and I don’t expect things to change.

I do find that my family thinks I do need some new clothing once in a while.  Again, if I need it, I buy it.  Usually it is some new jeans, or boots, maybe a work coat, you get the idea.  I’ve got plenty of old tees in the closet.  They want me all dressed up and looking nice.  A cloths horse I am not.  A few years back my wife gave me a card that said, “For the man whose cloths always say the same thing, I’m dressed.”  Yep, that’s me.

So, I most likely will find some new shirts under the tree this year.  The sensible ones that I can wear to work will not be in evidence.  They will be the kind that stay in my closet until they are too small to wear.  Closet shrink gets more of my “nice” clothing than any other thing.  Good thing my closet for “nice” clothing is small.  I know there are things in there that have not seen the light of day in years.

But Merry Christmas anyway!  Don’t let my, Bah, Humbug, attitude deter you.  I’m just happy to have the whole family home for a few days this holiday season.  That’s all the gifts I need.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

