Minnesota Farmer


Goodbye 2011

When I started blogging two and a half years ago I really did not know what I was getting into.  As time has gone by my blogs have fallen into a pleasant cycle of comments.  I write about farming, politics and family.  What is happening in my life shapes everything I write about.  So it is again.  Here’s some of the highlights from 2011.

January was cold and snowy, and the blog https://minnesotafarm.wordpress.com/2011/01/10/minnesnowta/ told the weather story.  On a more personal note I buried a friend after a farm accident.  That lead to a farm safety blog.

In February I traveled with others from Southwestern Minnesota to South Africa as we visited with folks from the Evangelical Lutheran Church in South Africa.  Learning to understand their joys and struggles as we helped them with some gardening projects.

March blogs were about politics and snow.

Snow again was a subject for Aprils blogs, along with how slow the snow was to melt, and the advent of rain which kept us from getting into the fields to plant our crops.

In May we got our planting done just a little bit behind schedule.  I also posted stories of the new decorative pond I was installing as part of a long planned for landscaping addition.  The plans had to be hurried because we had a wedding coming up in June.

Our daughter, Elizabeth married Michael Feltes on June 10, our anniversary.  Postings of crop conditions, wedding planning and pond creatures are the main topics for the month.  My favorite is the copy of the wedding toast I gave https://minnesotafarm.wordpress.com/2011/06/10/father-of-the-bride/.  I hope you enjoyed it.

July’s weather brought rapid crop development and hot humid weather.  Our garden was starting to give its produce and most of the field work was drawing to a close.

August brought us https://minnesotafarm.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/flash-drought/ and more postings of the happenings in our pond.

September found our crops rapidly reaching maturity, wood cutting and a farm safety program for area fourth grade children.  I got to tell the stories of farm accidents I and others have survived, plus the death of my friend Doug back in January in https://minnesotafarm.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/scared-safe/.  The birth of twin granddaughters at the end of the month also highlighted my month.

October was harvest.  I do not recall a fall where harvest went so fast, nor so easy.  The lack of moisture after such a wet spring was a big part of that speed.  Oh yes, I did post about those cute little girls that joined our family.

November was a bit slower month, but I was surprised by the popularity of a “how to” post I made called https://minnesotafarm.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/santas-peeking-in/.  It caused a big jump in readership of my blog.

December has been a winding down month.  The lack of snow and warm weather has been most of what I have written about.  I did have to put in a post or two about the new girls in my life with https://minnesotafarm.wordpress.com/2011/12/25/christmas-with-granddaughters/.

It has been an interesting year for me.  There have been joys and hardships and a lot of learning.  So here’s the best to you as you look forward to the new year.  There is one thing for sure, It will hold a lot of new opportunities for me to write about life.  I hope you join me in 2012.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

