Minnesota Farmer


If it could go wrong

It has been a hot week and I will be glad to see it go.  I seem to be having troubles for the last week or so, one after another.

Last Thursday I called the doctor that was to do my knee surgery to get details.  They said, “Oh, No, you are not scheduled for a week.”  I said “I have an appointment card that says surgery tomorrow.”, and “Next Friday will not work.”  Some how we got the surgery done.  The knee is feeling much better now, Thank you.

We go to the cabin so I can recuperate without having any extra duties, spend time with my leg up, take it easy.  No water in the cabin!  I have to crawl into the basement and prime the pump so we can have water to clean up and cool off.

It’s hot, record-breaking hot,but I cannot go into the water too cool off due to my surgery.  Lucky for me the crappies are biting just off the dock.  I can at least sit in the sun and fish, and sweat!

A storm comes through and takes down some trees and takes out the electricity.  Spend some time helping with the clean up.  No fans, no air moving, it’s hard to sleep.  The only running water we have is when someone goes down to the lake to carry it back in buckets.  With no fridge and food spoiling, we come home early.  Oh yeah, the fridge died when the power went out.

We stop at my aunt and uncles on the trip home for a bit.  The electricity goes out at their house!

A message comes up on my phone as we near home.  One of the items we need to serve for Breakfast on the Farm is not available, could you call back, like, two days ago.  With some scrambling, and help from others putting on the event, we are a go.

Today, Friday, I go to open my shop door and nothing happens, motor is out.  Looks like I need to do some repair there, and there are no parts available until Monday.

There have been a number of little things that have gone wrong this week, and the record heat and humidity are not helping us get things done.  I just want to crawl into bed and stay there.  Then, however, I would not get to see my granddaughters,

Katelyn and Allison

I would not have the feeling of a job done well, I would not have people looking at me and saying, “Wow, how did you get all of that done.”

So, I guess I’ll just keep on going.  We have a big event planned for tomorrow, and thanks to all of those who are helping me, we are going to have a good time.  Come on over and help fill the tent.  We’ll be waiting for you!

Everything is ready for Breakfast on the Farm, July 7, 2012

Here’s to keeping going when everything seems to be going wrong!

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

