Minnesota Farmer


If you only
November 18, 2012, 3:28 pm
Filed under: family, Farm, friends | Tags: , , , , , ,

In church today the pastor challenged us to think of what you would do different if you only had one more year to live, or one day.  Only one day was easy, I’d spend it with my grand daughters. Who wouldn’t love spending time with them.  They are a bit over a year old and busy as all get out.What I would do different if I had one year left was harder, because I already seem to be doing exactly what I want.

As a school bus driver I get to spend time with children.  Now at times they can be difficult, but the wonder of everyday in a child’s eyes is something that I try to cultivate in myself.  They help to keep me young.

I get some time for reading almost every day.  Mostly it’s the news, but every once in a while I can get lost in a good book.

I grew up in a traveling family.  We went to visit friends and relatives in the area often.  I have relatives in many states and have been traveling with my family to see them all my life.  I also get to visit new places when I can.  Trips to Canada and Mexico as well as Europe, the Middle East and Africa are all thing I have gotten to do.

I have a job I love.  It is varied and interesting.  Let it look a little bit the same as last year and you will get a curve of some kind thrown at you.  The money has not always been the greatest, but it has been enough.  It makes me rely on my skills and education, yet is random enough to not be boring.  There are others I can talk to that are going through the same things so I do not feel alone.  My job has also given me time to live a life of service,

There have been several organizations I have given myself to over the years, lately it has been my church and the Farm Bureau.  Both have given me an opportunity to travel and learn.

I was raised to be content.  I just need enough money to get by and my job and hobbies have allowed me enough time and money to be content.

I have a wife and children who tolerate and take care of me.  They are my best friends and my love.

I guess you could say that I have everything I need, why would I want to change a thing if I knew my time was limited.

So how about you?  Would you change anything I you knew your time was limited?

Michael

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

