Minnesota Farmer


If I sat at my computer all day
December 26, 2012, 9:17 pm
Filed under: church, family, Farm, friends, time, travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Driving down the road I think of some great story I would like to write, and then I forget it when I get to the computer.  I miss a lot of stories I want to tell you all, I could tell them to you if I sat at my computer all day, or maybe not.  An interesting life, and interesting stories come from getting out into the world and living it.  After nearly 60 years of living life on the farm I have some interesting ones.

Opinions, I’ve got them.  You don’t spend your life doing the many things I have done and not develop a few opinions.  I miss telling you my opinion on many things because I’m not sitting at my computer all day.  I’d love to sit here and tell you my opinion of everything, start me off.

My kids tell me I spend too much time on the computer writing blogs or reading facebook.  The thing is that after the years I have spent, the need to get out and earn a living for a growing family is not as great.  I’m not well off, but I am comfortable so I don’t need to be accumulating things.  I live life a bit more simply than many and am content.  I write what I want, when I want.

You’d never know it, but I hated writing in high school.  My wife says my writing still leaves a lot to be desired.  I still need to read and reread my writing to be sure I’m getting my point across, and I still mess up.  I do enjoy reading, and rarely do not have a book that I am in the middle of, or several magazines that I am reading.  I still prefer the old-fashioned paper book.  I’ve read most of the ones in my library many times, they are old friends.

My family takes some time also.  Three kids, two of them married, two grand daughters, a wife, parents, in-laws, sisters and their children, cousins, aunts and uncles, they all take up my time.  Then there are activities with friends to attend.  They also help provide stories to write about.

We love to travel, and I have been blessed to have traveled most of this country and several others.  It can really crimp your writing time if you are on the road.

During the cropping season I am especially busy, and now record keeping and tax preparation will be taking up some of my time.  I also have church and organizations that I belong which keep me busy, and provide more stories.

My life would be a lot more boring if I sat at my computer all day.  Not only that, but I would have a lot less to write about.  So I guess you are just going to have to miss out on some of those stories I could have written, if they were good enough, they will come back again anyway.  In the mean time, I’ll be out living life, so I have some more stories to write about for you.

Michael

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Living life is more important than talking about it, but I think finding some time to tell your story is also important to keeping farming as a viable option for the future too. Thanks for doing both!

Comment by Janice aka JPlovesCOTTON




Leave a Reply

