Minnesota Farmer


K Bus Safety day
September 6, 2013, 3:48 pm
Filed under: safety, school, School bus | Tags: , ,

Again this year I was called teach school bus safety to our schools kindergarten class.  I’m not sure exactly how many years I have been doing this, but I do know why.  I was first called many years ago when the kindergarten teachers decided that the person who had been doing bus safety training did not know how to talk to children of their class.  Talking to children this young is different than older kids, they need more hands on instruction and a learning by doing approach.

So how did they get me to start teaching K safety?  They waited until they knew the previous instructor was going to be out of town, and then asked for me.

The fact that my wife was then teaching kindergarten did figure into their choice.  The teachers knew that they would get immediate changes from me if they did not like the way I did it.

This year I was able to recruit some help.  Our school has hired a police officer to work as a liaison in the district.  She spends most of her time in the schools being seen and doing fun jobs like this, plus some not so fun jobs that involve the law when that comes about.  It was good to have the help.

Basically we split the job.  I talked about what to do on the bus and she helped with the outside the bus part.  Both are hugely important with the goal of getting everyone home safely.

I know they will not all “get it” after today, they are only 5 or 6, but it is a start.  Their teachers, drivers and parents will have to finish the job.  Safety should be everyones job.100_0762

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

