Minnesota Farmer


2013 Elementary Field Day
September 19, 2013, 4:39 pm
Filed under: Ag education, Farm, Farm Bureau, Minnesota, safety, school, Tractors | Tags: , , , , ,

I just got back from the two day Elementary Field Day at the Southwest Research and Outreach Center of the University of Minnesota at Lamberton.  I’ve been helping present the Farm Safety sessions at the field day as a representative of the Farm Bureau for several years now. This year we had over 500 fourth graders from 12 area schools attending.

Kevin Bock and Dave Van Loh talk about grain bin entrapment

Kevin Bock and Dave Van Loh talk about grain bin entrapment

I had several helpers from area Farm Bureau’s to help deliver the message so we split the classes up to get smaller groups so we could get the closer to our demonstrations.  Classes ranged from 13 to 50 depending on school size.  We only had 22 minutes to present hours of safety information so we had to pick and choose what we presented.

TaLana Mathiowetz demonstrates the 911 simulator.

TaLana Mathiowetz demonstrates the 911 simulator.

Subjects touched on included calling 911, grain entrapment, riding farm machinery safely, machine rollover, augers and pinch points on farm machines.

PTO demonstration

PTO demonstration

For the third year now I told the story of how my friend Doug lost his life in a PTO accident.  This presentation is given to all of the days attendees at once.  It’s tough job holding the attention of over 200 kids at once, and I do my best.  I want them to know how dangerous these machines can be.

After my last presentation I had a girl come up to me and ask if I wanted to scare them with my stories of these accidents.  I said yes,  I wanted to scare them safe.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

