Minnesota Farmer


Dad can you build….
September 27, 2013, 8:35 am
Filed under: church, family, Farm, house, Minnesota, projects | Tags: , , , , , , ,

My daughters are following in their mothers foot steps by keeping me in projects.  This summer my “between college and a job” youngest came to me with a project that involved stuff that had been saved for a later day.  It seems that old windows are chic, and things made from them without any changes to the peeling paint are “shabby chic”.

Our youngest knew of my stash of windows taken from our 1920’s house shortly after we moved in.  Those old windows were single paned and did little to keep out Minnesota’s heat and cold.  So she dug out one she liked and handed me a picture.  Dad, can you build this.  The challenge was on, and I think I did a respectable job, and I only resorted to a few purchased new items to get the job done.  It now is the coffee table in her apartment.100_2193Well one thing lead to another, and looking at the pile of old windows I decided to build another very similar to the other one to sell at our churches Holiday Fair.  Again a prairie style window for the top, but I found some old hinges so that I could have them on the outside where they show off.

100_2332

Well, this week inspiration struck.  The inspiration came in the form of a broken chair.  Here’s the result.100_2477

The top and bottom sashes came from the same window, so you have a one piece glass bottom shelf and a prairie style 4 pane top.  Any one out there interested in a coffee table?  I have more windows.

Michael

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love this! How much are you selling them for?

Comment by Krystal cooks.

The last two are going to our churches fall festival. Want to put in a bid?

Comment by Michael




Leave a Reply

