Minnesota Farmer


30 days: After the Harvest
November 1, 2013, 8:53 am
Filed under: Fall, Farm, harvest, Minnesota | Tags: , , , ,

So the harvest is done, the farmer can now move to Texas for the winter, right?  Oh so far from it.

Although the busiest time of the year has passed for me, there is still plenty to do on the farm.  We’ll be exploring the other things that keep a grain farmer busy when the crop is in the bin.  This is part of a 30 day challenge that many of the Agriculture Bloggers will be taking part in this November.  I will try to keep connected with all of the other 30 day challenge bloggers so you can see what others are up to.

So here are the folks I’ll be linking to.

30 Days Bloggers

0-1

First a little background so you know who I am.  This year I celebrated my 60th birthday, so I’ve been around for a while.  I farm with my dad on a small, by prairie standards, farm in southwestern Minnesota.  When I was growing up all I wanted to do was farm, so even my school years were focused on the farm.  I took a few years off to get a degree in Animal Science at Worthington Community College and the University of Minnesota, but took as many Agronomy classes as I could fit in.  For most of my farming life we had livestock on the farm, but 10 years ago dad and I closed the last hog barn and settled in to raise corn and soybeans.  Our old barns are now rented out to a young farmer and we just built a 2000 head hog finisher for him.  There are now more pigs on the place than we used to raise in a year.  My off the farm hours are spent keeping up with the kids and grandkids.  I drive a school bus route and build some furniture.

So hang on as we explore some of the many things that keep me busy when the last acre of corn is harvested.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

