Minnesota Farmer


30 days: Cut a tree, plant a tree
November 20, 2013, 11:28 am
Filed under: Fall, Farm, harvest, Minnesota, planting, Trees | Tags: , , , , , ,

Fall is an excellent time to be cutting wood for the winter, as long as it gets six months to dry, or it is already dead.  It is also a great time to plant trees.  So I did.100_2500

It seems that I always have trees that are dying around here, and their space must be filled.  Our yard lost a birch tree last winter and I did not get the space filled until just now.  The tree is a flowering pear.  It’s leaves are a dark red green and while it has great flowers in the spring, it produces little or no fruit, just right for our yard.

I have been trying to keep many different tree varieties in our yard.  When I moved here the place was elms and ash with a few maples.  Dutch elm ended the life of our elm trees so most of the trees replaced were green ash.  Now with the Emerald Ash Borer moving into Minnesota I am planting other trees whenever I can.  We have a wide variety so I should never be without trees to slow the prairie winds.  Fall is an excellent time to plant trees.  I hope you are planting your share.

So there you have it, day 20 of the 30 day challenge.  I already know what eight of the remaining subjects are going to be, I should be able to finish this challenge off.  Hope you are enjoying finding out what farmers do after the harvest is over.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

