Minnesota Farmer


Phantom cheep
February 14, 2014, 7:49 pm
Filed under: machines | Tags: , , , ,

A few weeks ago I started hearing a small cheeping or beeping sound around the house.  I tried tracking it down but to no avail.  It was not happening on a predictable interval and was very small.  Then on our trip to Colorado I start hearing it again.

We tried tracking it down in the condo, and on the car ride home.  We determined that it was indeed something that I had on me.  I turned my cell phone off, but still it beeped.  I have no pacemaker or other battery operated things  in me so that was out.  I separated my phone and my camera to different parts of the car, but still it eluded us.  Then I had a thought.  Bingo, I had it!100_2631I have a pocket knife with an electronic clock in it.  The clock has not worked in years, so I forgot about it, but sometime recently the alarm clock had been turned on inadvertently, and it was going off whenever its poor dying battery could get up enough juice.  I removed the battery and the phantom went away.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

