Minnesota Farmer


Roads closed
February 21, 2014, 9:34 am
Filed under: Farm, Ice, Minnesota, safety, snow, travel, weather, wind, winter | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I live on a closed road.  At least it is still as of 9 a.m. today.overlay_image.srvYep, all of those orange roads on this map of Minnesota are closed.  There were quite a few more of them when I got up  at 5:30 this morning.

Yesterdays snowfall was beautiful, but it fell wet, while the air temperatures were above freezing, and we have a lot of ice on roads.  Right now the winds are still kicking in at 20 to 30 mph.  That means that out here on the prairie we have blowing snow.  The blowing snow is keeping the roads from being cleared.    Although there was not that much snow here, about 2 inches, the wind is filling in the roads in the areas that have drifted banks.

I spent a few hours moving snow this morning.  I’m expecting feed trucks in the yards once the roads are open again.  When I was out this morning I did see a bit of traffic, and cars in the ditch, plus some folks getting off of the night shift who were having trouble getting home.  But now I  am home.  With roads being what they are, I think I’ll stay home for a bit.  After all I have a good excuse, my road is closed.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

