Minnesota Farmer


Adapt or die
March 23, 2014, 4:04 pm
Filed under: history, Music, time | Tags: , , ,

“The South moves North the North moves South a star is born a star burns out
The only thing that stays the same is everything changes everything changes”

From Time Marches On by Tracy Lawrence

It would be easy because of my advancing years (60) to want things to stay the same as they were yesterday.

Yesterday when I was young
So many happy songs were waiting to be sung,
So many wild pleasures lay in store for me
And so much pain my dazzled eyes refused to see.
I ran so fast that time and youth at last ran out,
I never stopped to think what life was all about
And every conversation I can now recall
Concerned itself with me and nothing else at all.

From Yesterday, When I was Young by Roy Clark

But one of the few things I have learned is that time changes things, and we must adapt to them or die.  Too many see this world as a friendly place and do not see how we must wrestle life from the earth through sweat and struggle.  Our lives here in the developed countries are too easy.  When things go wrong we say “Why?” as if we are owed an easy life.  I’ve watched as even the poorest, most defenseless in the developed countries are guaranteed life.  Yes, we have the resources to provide for the poor and the cripple, but that is not the way of life.

Mankind has transcended the mundane struggle for life in most cases.  He has placed himself as a supreme being that no longer has to struggle unless he is severely disadvantaged.  So here is my warning to those who feel entitled, life is tough, and if you are living the easy life, it will not last.  We all are born in pain and struggle, and we all will die.

Sitting with Mama alone in her bedroom
She opened her eyes, and then squeezed my hand
She said, I have to go now, my time here is over
And with her final word, she tried to help me understand
Mama whispered softly, Time will ease your pain
Life’s about changing, nothing ever stays the same

From How can I help you say goodbye by Patty Loveless

So go ahead, look back on the past with fondness, but realize that the past will never come again.  You can live in the past, or change and embrace the future.  Life is about living today and planning for the future, the past is dead and gone.

Michael

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

