Minnesota Farmer


Not quite
June 8, 2014, 4:43 pm
Filed under: Corn, Farm, rain, spring, weather | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The weather has got me stalled out for now.  We’ve been hauling corn to town because we really do not have much else to do, field conditions are just too wet.

Earlier last week we got about 3 inches of rain.  Conditions were almost ready to start spraying those pesky weeds, and we get another half an inch.  Now the almost ready spots have water sitting in them again.  The corn is really growing with all of this rain, but so are the weeds.

I cut my little bit of alfalfa last Tuesday, but when the weather is this wet you just cannot bale it, so there it lays waiting.  I did finally think it was dry enough to rake it today, and now some clouds have moved in.  With a wet forecast, there will be no baling hay today or tomorrow.

I decided to use my down time to get the lawn mowed.  Now I broke the mower deck belt, and I do not have another on hand.  Now that job is only partly done and the grass is growing fast!

Oh well, it looks as if this is another spring to get interrupted by rain.  I will get it done, I’m just not sure when.  For now all of those jobs will be left not quite done.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

