Minnesota Farmer


Farm safety

For several years now I have been teaching farm safety at the Southwest Outreach Center of the University of Minnesota in Lamberton’s fourth grade field day.  This activity is part of the work I do as a volunteer for the Farm Bureau.

682 fourth graders from 15 area elementary schools attended the Elementary Field Day that these safety messages were presented at on Wednesday, September 17 and Thursday, September 18, 2014. Students also participated in activities on healthy soils, composting, electrical safety, plants, and climate change.  

10676386_635581586557654_8744859319046042390_nIn this demonstration I got to talk to the kids about the importance of shields to keep you from getting drug into spinning shafts, pulley, gears, chains and belts.  I tell the story of how I had my fingers go between a belt and pulley.

16760_635114503271029_3765135158261779468_n

We also talked about safety around augers.  I tell the story of a man who lost his arm in an auger accident.

10710674_635114616604351_3764976081609673453_n

 The most dramatic demo has to be the power take-off (PTO) demonstration.  In this demo we get a tyvek suit filled with paper wrapped in the PTO shaft between a tractor and a baler.  I tell the story of a friend I lost to a PTO accident, and if I do it right the crowd is quiet before and after the demo.

Late on Thursday I had a young lady ask me why I told such horrible stories.  To me the answer is obvious.  I want to keep these kids safe.  If I can keep just one of this group alive, all of my time was well spent.

Area schools participating included: Windom, Red Rock Central, Westbrook-Walnut Grove, St. Mary’s (Tracy), Reed Gray (Redwood Falls), Mt. Lake, St. Paul’s (New Ulm), Washington Elementary (New Ulm), Lakeview, Samuel Lutheran (Marshall), Wabasso, St. Anne’s (Wabasso), Tracy, Southwest Star Concept, and Springfield.

If you would like to see more pictures of the field day check out the facebook page for the Southwest Research & Outreach Center.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

