Minnesota Farmer


Christmas Music Memories
November 16, 2014, 2:44 pm
Filed under: Christmas, family, Music | Tags: , ,

It happened again.  The first hymn starts and I start singing and the children of the dad in front of me who does not sing turn and stare.  Yes, guys do sing in church.

But why is it that I sing?  Well, I guess it is because of this bunch.

IMG_2509

This is my dad’s family from the year I was born.  I’m that little guy in the back row.  When your father sings it is a huge influence on a boy and I grew up with music.

Grandpa Julius played the violin, Robert and Ernie played the concertina and several of them played the piano.  Christmas meant music in Julius and Ann’s house, and lots of good food.  We sang mostly in english, but there were some german songs also.  I can still remember most of the german for “Stille Nacht.”  The house was crowded with family and music.

I do not remember as much music at Harry and Agnes’ parties.  Grandpa Harry was not musical.  Grandma Agnes’ family was and we learned norwegian when the Iverson’s got together.  Corrine, Agnes’ sister, taught and wrote music so she would take command of the piano for those Christmas sing alongs.

Music and the holidays make a big impression on a kid.  I’m glad my family were singers.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

