Minnesota Farmer


Christmas is for (grand)children
December 28, 2014, 7:39 am
Filed under: Christmas, family, Holidays | Tags: , , ,

As I get older I realize more and more that I do not really need the stuff I get at Christmas.  Don’t get me wrong, I get some really great stuff.  It’s just that at 60 plus years of age I have the things I want.  The things I need cannot be purchased.

100_3092

We had our family Christmas last night.  One of our girls and her family could not make it, but those that did filled the house.  By the time the bounty under the tree was distributed there was a real mess in the house.  Yes, the adults tried to corral the bits of paper and the gifts, but 3 year olds do not.  It was a joyous mess.  Now that is Christmas!

Oh yes, we adults shared memories and stories, and played games.  There have been a procession of family and friends through our house this Christmas season.  We really had a great time.  The time watching the grandchildren was so much fun.  Seeing our three year old package destroyers and their cousin (via facetime) who just started to crawl was the best part.  They are the real joy for Christmas.  They are what I really need for Christmas.

So here’s to you and the children in your lives.  I hope you all had a great Christmas.  I hope you got what your really needed this holiday season.

Michael

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I agree with your statements 100%! I too enjoy my kids and the grandkids and all the excitement that surrounds their lives. I am past the materialistic stage of Christmas and enjoy it for the simple things in life.

Comment by Don Singsaas




Leave a Reply

