Minnesota Farmer


Going Solar Voltaic
January 6, 2015, 5:10 pm
Filed under: Farm, machines | Tags: , , , , ,

Monday, January 5 found four electricians scurrying about my machine shed, in temperatures well below freezing, putting final connections to controls for a photo voltaic system.  I am  about to start producing my own electricity.

OK, let’s back up a bit.  Those of you who have been on my farm have noticed several solar collectors that gather heat from the sun to warm my house and shop.  These air-to-air systems have been at work for over 30 years now.  For more than that time I have been watching the solar electric industry grow and become more efficient.  This year I decided to take the plunge.

The system is an investment that, like many farm investments, will take years to pay off.  In the mean time, I’ll be producing about 2/3rds of my farm sites annual electric usage using the sun.  Once the system is paid off, I’ll have many more years of free electricity.100_3073

My roofs were evaluated and measured and a deal was set.  Trenches were dug and equipment was delivered.  With the nasty November we had, we were all glad to see a warmer December as construction progressed.

100_3079

Soon tracks were installed on the roof, panels and wiring soon followed.

100_3083

The last panels were placed just before Christmas.  Wires were left hanging for the electricians to tie into.

100_3094

Monday, as the snow began to fall the electricians made the final connections.

100_3096

Now there is a bank of hi-tech electronics on the side of my machine shed waiting for final inspection.  Once the inspectors are done and final paper work with the electric company are signed I will be producing most of my own electricity using the sun.

Give me a month or so to get the last details worked out and come on over to check it out.

Michael

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] was a bit over a month ago that I wrote about my Solar Voltaic project, well it’s now official, I’m on the […]

Pingback by Finally on the grid | Minnesota Farmer




Leave a Reply

