Minnesota Farmer


Dry start?
April 19, 2015, 7:15 am
Filed under: Farm, Minnesota, planting, rain | Tags: , , ,

It’s looking as if there will be a dry start to this planting season.  We went through winter with little snow and have had insufficient rain to really make a difference yet this spring.  We do have enough water to get crops started but how long that will last depends on future rain events.  Our area of southwestern Minnesota is on the edge of the driest ground getting just a bit below normal rainfall for this month.

So far ground temperatures have yet to reach optimal planting temperatures.  Tile repair crews and builders are still reporting frozen ground less than two feet down.  Some farmers have started to plant due to the great top soil conditions.  Although there is risk in early planting they are willing to take that risk.  So far I am waiting.  The forecast for two days of frost this week will influence my decision to wait.
So when will I start planting corn?  I’d expect a starting date later this week if all holds as forecast.  I still have plenty of projects to keep me going as I prepare for planting season, so I’m not sitting idle.  Stay tuned for the beginning of my planting season.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

