Minnesota Farmer


Bus wounded, turkey missing
November 18, 2015, 9:40 am
Filed under: birds, bus, Farm, School bus, Wildlife

The area along the Des Moines river on County 14 is an area I know well.  It is an area teeming in wildlife.  Deer, pheasant, turkey, fox and coyote have all been seen as my bus rolls down that streach of county gravel.  I saw my first wild turkey there.  I hit my first deer on that streach of gravel.  Tuesday, the encounter was a bit closer than I wanted.  My bus windshield took a direct hit by a wild turkey.

image.jpeg

There were still 6 students on the bus when the turkeys flew in front of the bus.  The students of course, were excited.  Me?  I’d just about had a turkey come through the front window into my lap, I was a bit unnerved.

image.jpeg

My lap was full of glass, and there was no way I could continue taking the kids home.  We had a big problem!

image.jpeg

Lucky for us we were only half a mile from where our bus company manager lived.  I got to his place and the students and I were picked up by a bus from another route.  Everyone was safe, I only had one minor cut, the turkey could not be found.

This morning the students who had been on the bus were celebrities.  They were showing the pictures on their iPads and  recounting the whole experience.  I’m just glad no one was hurt except the turkey.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

